The Cabinet

The Cabinet constitutes the executive branch and has general direction and control of the Government of The Bahamas. It is necessary for the Cabinet to comprise at least nine Ministers inclusive of the Prime Minister and Attorney General.

All Ministers are Members of Parliament either the House of Assembly or the Senate. The number of Ministers from the Senate is limited to three. In addition the Prime Minister and the Minister of Finance are required to be members of the House of Assembly.

The functions of the Cabinet entail the final determination of government policy, control of government activities and coordination of government Ministries and Departments. 

The Cabinet meets at least once per week to consider various issues.   


© 2011 The Official Website of the Government of The Bahamas.
All rights reserved.