Stamp Duties: Payments & Exemptions


Payment of stamp duties can be undertaken at the Revenue Collection Section of the Treasury Department. Several documents can be stamped by the Treasury Department. These include:

  1. Affidavits
  2. Release of Dower
  3. Promissory Note
  4. Power of Attorney
  5. Trust ( In transition to the Business Licence Department)
  6. Bonds
  7. Debentures
  8. Satisfaction Debentures
  9. Mortgages
  10. Satisfaction Mortgages
  11. Memorandum of Association
  12. Incorporation of Foreign Company
  13. Memorandum of Association of Non Profit Company
  14. Leases
  15. Conveyances
  16. Confirmatory Conveyances
  17. Up stamping of Mortgages
  18. Further Charges
  19. Chattel Mortgages
  20. Satisfaction for up stamping Mortgages
  21. Satisfaction for Chattel Mortgages
  22. Renunciation of Dowers
  23. Sales Agreements


First time homeowners can apply for an exemption of stamp duty exemptions on their Conveyance and Mortgage Instruments relative to the acquisition of their first time dwelling home. For details the conditions for stamp duty exemptions please review the link below:

Stamp Duties exemptions for first time home owners 

For more Information, please contact:

Revenue Collection Section
Treasury Department
1st Floor (North East Wing)
Treasury Building
Cor. East Street & North Place
P.O. Box N-7524
New Providence
The Bahamas
Tel. (242) 322-4561
Fax.(242) 322-4556

Useful Links
© 2011 The Official Website of the Government of The Bahamas.
All rights reserved.