National Security, Ministry of

Sir Orville A. Turnquest Building
John F. Kennedy Drive
P. O. Box N 3217
Nassau, N.P., The Bahamas
Web Site:
Phone:(242) 502-3300, 356-6792/3 or 356-4400/3
Fax:(242) 356-6087
Areas of Responsibility

The Royal Bahamas Police Force
The Royal Bahamas Defence Force
Department of Correctional Services
Parliamentary Registration Department

Other Areas of Responsibilities

Public Safety
Flags and Coat of Arms
Police Force 
Defence Force 
Prerogative of Mercy
Relations with the Parliamentary Commissioner
Elections and Referenda

Specialized Areas of Responsibility

National Anti-Drug Secretariat (NADS)
Security Guards and Inquiry Agents Licensing


MISSION STATEMENT:   "To defend, protect and guard the national and territorial sovereignty and integrity of The Bahamas and its citizens. "


The Honourable Marvin Dames, M.P. is the Minister of National Security.  The Permanent Secretary, Mr. Eugene Poitier, is the Chief Administrative Officer and advises the minister on the ministry’s policies and is responsible for the supervision of the ministry, human resources, accounting matters and the daily implementation of the government’s policies and programmes. The ministry is temporarily located at Charlotte House, Charlotte & Shirley Streets.

The ministry has portfolio responsibility for the public safety of The Bahamas. The security agencies for which it has policy oversight are: the Royal Bahamas Police Force, the Royal Bahamas Defence Force and the Bahamas Department of Corrections. The portfolio also includes responsibility of the Parliamentary Registration Department, Prerogative of Mercy and the specialised areas of the National Anti-Drug Secretariat and Security Guards and Inquiry Agents Licensing.


© 2011 The Official Website of the Government of The Bahamas.
All rights reserved.