HISTORY OF THE MINISTRY OF NATIONAL SECURITY

The Ministry of National Security was established as the Ministry of Home Affairs in 1973, shortly after The Bahamas became an independent Nation. In 1990, it transitioned to the Ministry of National Security. Following the General Elections of 1992, immigration and transport were added to the Ministry's portfolio; and it became known as the Ministry of Public Safety and Immigration, Public Safety and Transport. The responsibilities of the Ministry changed in 1995, and it was renamed the Ministry of Public Safety and Immigration.

Following the General Elections of 1997, The Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Public Enterprises were added to the Ministry's portfolio and its name was changed to the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Ministry of National Security and Public Enterprises. From 1998 to 2002 it became the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Ministry of National Security.

Having undergone a number of portfolio and name changes, it is today the Ministry of National Security and is currently located at Charlotte House, Charlotte and Shirley Streets.

Ministers of National Security Past and Present

Ministers	Years of Service	Ministry Name
Hon. Anthony Roberts	1973-1987	Ministry of Home Affairs
Hon. Paul Adderley	1987	Ministry of Home Affairs
Hon. Arlington Butler	1987-1990	Ministry of Home Affairs
Hon. Darrel Rolle	1990 -1992	Ministry of National Security
Hon. Arlington Butler	1992-1995	Ministry of Public Safety and Immigration, Public Safety and Transport
Hon. Cornelius Smith	1995-1997	Ministry of Public Safety and Immigration
Hon. D.P.M. Frank Watson	1997-1998	Office of the Deputy Prime Minister, Ministry of National Security and Public Enterprises
Hon. D.P.M. Frank Watson		Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Ministry of National Security
Hon. D.P.M. Cynthia Pratt	2002-2007	Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Ministry of National Security
Hon. Tommy Turnquest	2007-2012	Ministry of National Security
Hon. Dr. Bernard Nottage	2012-2017	Ministry of National Security
Hon. Marvin H. Dames	2017-Present	Ministry of National Security

Permanent Secretaries of the Ministry of National Security Past and Present

Permanent Secretaries	Years of Service	Ministry Name
Mr. Baltron Bethel	1973 -1983	Ministry of Home Affairs
Mr. Herbert Walkine	1983-1987	Ministry of Home Affairs
Mrs. Mary Sweetnam	1987	Ministry of Home Affairs
Mr. Wendell Major	1987-1990	Ministry of Home Affairs
Mr. Idris Reid	1990-1991	Ministry of National Security
Mr. Wendell Major	1991-1992	Ministry of National Security, Public Safety and Immigration
Mr. Mark Wilson	1992-1995	Ministry of National Security, Public Safety and Immigration
Mr. Idris Reid	1995-1997	Ministry of Public Safety and Immigration
Mr. Idris Reid	1997-1998	Office of the Deputy Prime Minister, Ministry of National Security and Public Enterprises
Mr. Harcourt Turnquest	1998-2000	Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Ministry of National Security
Mr. Mark Wilson	2000-2007	Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Ministry of National Security
Mr. Missouri Sherman	2007-2010	Ministry of National Security
Mr. Carl Smith	2010-Present	Ministry of National Security